Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Edges of foamcore
Here's a question: if you're using foamcore to build a droid, what can you use to cover the edges?

Like such:

[Image: Foam_board.jpg]

Is there something that can be used to fill in or cover the edges?
100% death proof

[Image: qBQpDd.jpg]
I have no specific knowledge, but it makes me wonder if model putty would work? Or even a thin glue layer?
(09-30-2015, 09:08 PM)kresty Wrote: I have no specific knowledge, but it makes me wonder if model putty would work?  Or even a thin glue layer?

Not sure. I'll ask at the hobby store next time I stop in although I'm not sure if they'd know, either.

I did a little research and found this thread:

http://www.40konline.com/index.php?topic=114100.0

"That's what I did--Two or three thin coats of white glue with my finger (it goes very quickly), then sanded lightly with a fine sandpaper. It worked great!!"

Also they mention using the thicker foam found at hardware stores and cutting it with a hot wire. My uncle made something like that when I was a kid. If I can find the styrofoam at a local hardware store I can find out how he built the hot wire cutter for it.

For now working with the foam core is simplest.
Cool, that's like what I was thinking with glue... I did that on the laser cut plywood on L3-G0, mostly because the edges were black from cutting and I didn't want to get the black all over the droid's white.

You can get hot wire cutters pretty cheap from crafts/hobby stores. (Unless you're savage, he'd have to build a 2D (or better 3D) automated bed for it!)
I tried the glue trick on a couple of pieces of my proton pack and it looks like it works! So simple... I smeared an even layer of elmer's along the edges of the foamcore and really did make a nice, smooth seal. Probably will do a second layer to smooth it out a little more, but yeah - great trick for foamcore edges.